Seasonal Chef Hits the Farmers Market Trail!

0

We are just eleven days away from summer. The sun, for the most part, is shining high in the sky and all the farmers markets in Westchester county are just about open. I, for one, am beyond excited. This year marks my 5th year doing cooking demos at our local farmers markets and I could not be happier. My travel schedule has grown exponentially since my first foray into the outdoor market world in 2011. I try, as best I can, to tie in my demos to the Seasonal Chef column. So if you come to see me you will almost always be able to find the recipe on this blog. This weekend I will be demoing a new recipe: Grilled Asparagus, Chick Pea and Feta Salad.

LOOKING FOR MORE ASPARAGUS IDEAS?

Here are the dates and locations of my summer demos:

Saturday, June 13, John Jay Homestead Farm Market, 10:00-Noon and the Ossining Fair, 2:30-4:30

Sunday, June 14, Rye Down to Earth Farmers Market, 11:30-1:30

Saturday, June 20, Chappaqua Farmers Market, 10:00-Noon

Saturday, June 27, Larchmont Down to Earth Farmers Market, 11:30-1:30

Sunday, July 5, Irvington Farmers Market, 10:00-Noon

Saturday, July 25, Hastings on Hudson Farmers Market, 10:00-Noon

Sunday, August 2, Irvington Farmers Market, 10:00-Noon

Saturday, August 8, Chappaqua, 10:00-Noon

Saturday, August 15, Bronxville Farmers Market, 10:00-

Sunday, August 16, Piermont Down to EarthFarmers Market, 11:30-1:30

Saturday, August 22, Larchmont Down to Earth Farmers Market, 11:30-1:30

Saturday, September 5, John Jay Homestead Farm Market, 10:00-Noon

Sunday, September 6, Irvington Farmers Market, 10:00-Noon

Saturday September 12, Tarrytown/Sleepy Hollow Farmers Market, 10:00-Noon

In addition to my jam packed demo schedule this summer I am also doing Farm Stand Cooking Classes at Hilltop Hanover Farm. So if you are not quite sure what to do with all that delicious produce my fun and easy classes will help you out. Here are the dates and times:

Friday June19, 4:00-6:00

Friday July 10, 1:00-3:00

Friday July 24, 4:00-6:00

Friday August 7, 1:00-3:00

Friday August 21, 4:00-6:00

Buon Appetito!

One year ago: Farmers Market Cuban
Two years ago: Grilled Romaine
Three years ago: Purslane

Share.

About Author

Seasonal Chef blogger Maria Reina comes to the world of food as a third career, spending a great portion of her adult life in the field of Human Resources. With her private company Bella Cucina Maria she is a personal chef, caterer and recreational cooking class teacher in Westchester. She's an avid food television watcher and cookbook collector, always looking for a new take on a traditional dish. In her free time she loves hanging out at local farmer's markets, chatting it up with the farmers and doing cooking demos with their seasonal ingredients. In addition to her blog, which is loaded with easy recipes, you can follow her on Facebook (Bella Cucina Maria), Twitter (Bellacucinam), Instagram (Bellacucinam) and Pinterest (Bellacucinam).

Leave A Reply